Bond Case Briefs

Municipal Finance Law Since 1971

NABL Announces 2015 Award Recipients.

The National Association of Bond Lawyers has announced two recipients of NABL's prestigious awards.

The Bernard P. Friel Medal recognizes distinguished service in the field of public finance. The Friel Medal will be awarded to John M. McNally, Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP, Washington, DC. NABL President-Elect and Awards Committee Chair Ken Artin said, "John is very deserving of the award, his service in public finance has not only benefitted his clients but also the practice area nationally. For almost two decades John has been actively involved in numerous projects impacting the municipal market. He has contributed to NABL's educational programs through published memoranda, speaking engagements and publications. He served as NABL president in 2010-2011. His efforts also include participation in programs sponsored by GFOA, NAST, NFMA, SIFMA, Bond Buyer, SEC, MSRB and others organizations with the goal of assisting market participants in matters involving federal securities laws. He is an incredibly well respected securities lawyer deserving of the recognition of the Bernard P. Friel Award."

The Frederick O. Kiel Distinguished Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to NABL over an extended period of time. The Kiel Award will be presented to Robert Dean Pope of Hunton & Williams LLP, Richmond, VA. "Dean is extraordinarily deserving of the Kiel Distinguished Service Award. For decades, Dean, who served as NABL's President from 1987-88, has been a tireless contributor to NABL: countless comment letters, prodigious speaker and panelist at NABL seminar programs and workshops, and most recently, in the Fred Kiel tradition, serving as Editor of The Bond Lawyer publication. Dean unselfishly contributes to NABL every practice day — and many weekends, too — with one goal in mind: to serve NABL members' interests," said Awards Committee member, Drew Kintzinger.

The awards will be presented on Thursday, September 10, in conjunction with NABL's 40th Annual Bond Attorneys' Workshop in Chicago, IL. The 2015 NABL Awards Committee was composed of: Kenneth Artin (Bryant Miller Olive P.A., Orlando, FL), Chair; Antonio Martini (Hinkley Allen, Boston, MA), Vice Chair; Allen Robertson (Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson, P.A., Charlotte, NC); Kristin Franceschi (DLA Piper LLP, Baltimore, MD); and Drew Kintzinger (Hunton & Williams LLP, Washington, DC).

Copyright © 2025 Bond Case Briefs | bondcasebriefs.com